Reaping the Harvest

So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.”  Galatians 6:9 (NLT)

For twelve years at my old teaching job, I drove 45 minutes in steady traffic through many, many stoplights to get to school.  It wasn’t bumper to bumper, but it was white knuckle on the worst days.

5jk6xg_7by4-zach-inglis.jpg

Now, to get to my new school, I drive on country roads.  I go through two stoplights.  And there are cows.  Horses and cows.  It looks something like this.

axonnnh1y98-leon-ephraim.jpg

Today, I drove past many a cow to get to an off-campus meeting with our school’s leadership team.  Representatives from our building sit around a great big table and meet with a consultant about how to improve relationships and culture and maximize learning for our students.  We take it pretty seriously, but we also have a lot of fun.  Then we go out to lunch together and actually get to chew our food (like the cows) because we are not on our regular school schedule.  (I have to admit that this is one of my favorite parts of leadership team.)  We talk about students and curriculum and dream out loud about all that is possible for the kids at our school.

At the end of the day today, we did an activity where we got to share one amazing thing about every person at our table – out loud for everyone to hear.  And then we got to go home.  I don’t know many people that wouldn’t walk a little taller after receiving compliments like that.  I did.

Most of us work really hard at jobs that are not always easy (more on this later).  But being recognized and acknowledged for the gifts we bring to the table is rare and immeasurably valuable.

I was given that gift today, and my heart is full and I am so grateful.  Not just because I get to look at cows now on my way to work instead of busy streets and stoplights, but because I get to work with an amazing group of educators who love what they do and would do anything to help the students in our school.

Today for me was the reaping of the harvest.  It was the blessing that comes with the work.

pkfxc2d3yd4-pawel-wisniewski.jpg

And I am so grateful.

 

Missy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

