Unlesson Planning

Dear Readers,

Okay, so “Unlesson” is not a real word.  But that’s what I did today. I did the opposite of planning lessons.  I brought home a few of my curriculum books to do some serious, intensive lesson planning today.  It did not happen.

image

Here’s what I did instead:

  1.  Went to the dentist for a checkup.  (Good report, in case you were wondering.)
  2. Went to the library to check this book out:

image

I already tried to read it once, but I just couldn’t get into it.  Then Ben and I watched the movie preview featuring Emily Blunt the other day, and now I can’t wait to see the movie.  But I really want to read the book first.  Lucky for me, the only edition they had at my local library was LARGE PRINT.  No vision correction needed.

3.   I took this little doll baby to the doctor for her three year check-up.

image

She is bigger and taller than most kids her age, can spot a sailboat, a coffee cup, and a hand on the vision chart at 20 feet, and has a belly full of hard poop.  As a cherry on top, she hadn’t peed all day, and it was almost noon.  So we went home and I pulled out my bag of tricks to get her to go poop and pee on the potty.  None of them worked.  I cried.  Then I put her back in her pull-ups.  There’s always tomorrow.

4.  I laid down for a nap from potty training exhaustion.  An ambulance roaring through our neighborhood woke me up 20 minutes later.

5.  I read more about Rachel and Megan and Scott in The Girl on the Train and oh boy – things are getting really dicey 100 pages in.

6.   Charlotte and I went to get Amelia off the big yellow school bus.

7.  I met one of my dearest friends and former colleagues for dinner.  We talked for three hours.  I felt human again.   This friend happens to have married my husband and me and is my spiritual mentor.  I’m pretty sure there’s a special place for her in heaven.  Maybe a special chair.  Or a scepter.  I love her.

Now it’s 10:00 p.m. and there’s a better chance of me cracking open the covers of my bed than the cover of one of these books.

image

Fortunately, as all good teachers know, there are just as many lessons to be learned (and planned) in the waking and the trying (and in my case today, the drinking wine and the crying.)

 

ZZZZZZZZ.

 

Missy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

